

# CDGN METAGENOMICS WORKING GROUP TERMS OF REFERENCE

Version 1.1 – 14 March 2024

## VISION

To develop and standardise metagenomics approaches and reporting in Australia

## AIMS

- To support, coordinate and standardise approaches to sequencing, analysis, and reporting of metagenomics across CDGN public health laboratories
- To explore opportunities to collaborate between public health laboratories, work with research groups and clinical laboratories to support development of metagenomic approaches

## ACTIVITIES

- 1. Support jurisdictional metagenomics implementation and a nationally standardised approach for metagenomics through method sharing
- 2. Develop a structure for consistent reporting for public health metagenomics, in close consultation with key stakeholders
- 3. Develop clinical and technical use cases for metagenomics for the rational and appropriate application of metagenomics to inform clinical medicine and public health
- 4. Collaborate and guide the CDGN Teaching, Training of Curriculum working group to develop metagenomics training resources (e.g. webinars, workshops)
- 5. Explore and submit applications for cross-jurisdictional funding as required
- 6. Advise and assist with development of medical governance guidelines and certification in clinical metagenomics, in partnership with relevant organisations (i.e. RCPA)

#### GOVERNANCE

This is a Working Group (WG) of the CDGN.

#### **Co-Chair arrangements**

The CDGN Metagenomics Working Group will be co-chaired by Dr Lex Leong and Dr Sanmarié Schlebusch. Co-chairing arrangements will be reviewed every 12 months.

Metagenomics Working Group membership

The Metagenomics working group is a multi-disciplinary group comprised of public health laboratory representatives.

Victoria	
Alicia Arnott	VIDRL
Leon Caly	VIDRL
Eike Steinig	VIDRL
Torsten Seemann	MDU PHL
Susan Ballard	MDU PHL
Karolina Mercoulia	MDU PHL
New South Wales	
Jen Kok	ICPMR
Rebecca Rockett	University of Sydney



Winkie Fong	University of Sydney	
Tanya Golubchik	University of Sydney	
Queensland		
Amy Jennison	Forensic and Scientific Services (FSS), Queensland Health	
Sanmarié Schlebusch	FSS, Queensland Health (Co-Chair)	
Patrick Harris	Pathology Queensland and University of Queensland	
Bianca Graves	Pathology Queensland	
South Australia		
Lex Leong	SA Pathology (Co-Chair)	
Caitlin Selway	SA Pathology	
Tasmania		
Jo Chua	Royal Hobart Hospital	
Louise Cooley	Royal Hobart Hospital	
Northern Territory		
Dimitrios Menouhos	Royal Darwin Hospital	
New Zealand		
Vinko Besic	Institute of Environmental Science and Research Limited (ESR)	
Western Australia		
Avram Levy	PathWest	
David Foley	PathWest	
Australian Government Department of Health (Observers)		
Amy Black	Office of Health Protection and Response	
Michel Watson	Office of Health Protection and Response	
Tatiana Gonzales	Office of Health Protection and Response	
CDGN		
Angela Donald	CDGN Secretariat	
Christina Crachi	CDGN Secretariat Support	

## **MEMBER ROLES**

Definition of roles and responsibilities:

<u>Co-Chair</u> – responsible for the approval of agenda items and agenda papers and for Chairing monthly meetings as scheduled.

<u>Member</u> – member of working group and can participate in decision-making process for all agenda items tabled.

All members are required to:

- Attend and participate in monthly meetings; and
- Review and action meeting outcomes and contribute to WG activities and projects as required

#### REPORTING

• Outcomes from meetings will be shared with all members (and other relevant interested parties with approval by WG members)

#### **MEETING FREQUENCY**

• Monthly online meeting